“May have forged…” 5 Rajya Sabha MPs demand Privilege Motion against AAP MP Raghav Chadha

New Delhi, Aug 07 (ANI): AAP MP Raghav Chadha speaks to the media after Rajya Sabha passes Delhi Services Bill, 2023, in New Delhi on Monday. (ANI Photo)

New Delhi [India], August 8 (ANI): As many as five Rajya Sabha MPs on Monday demanded to move a Privilege Motion against Raghav Chadha after alleging that their “forged signatures” were added in the proposed select committee on Delhi Services Bill without their consent by the AAP MP.
Five MPs, who have raised objections are S Phangnon Konyak, Narhari Amin and Sudhanshu Trivedi of BJP, AIADMK MP M Thambidurai and BJD’s Sasmit Patra. They have alleged that their names were included in the proposed select committee on Delhi Services Bill without their consent. 
Meanwhile, Chadha said that he will give an answer to Privileges Committee when they send a notice. 
AIADMK MP M Thambidurai has already given a letter to the Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar for the same. 
“I have given a letter to the Rajya Sabha Chairman referring to the Privilege Committee as to how my name is included in the motion, as I had not signed any document. Therefore, someone may have forged my signature,” he said. 
While speaking to ANI, Bharatiya Janata Party MP Narhari Amin said, “Raghav Chadha included my name in Select Committee. He did not talk to me, I did not give consent for this. He has done wrong. I have not given my signature…”
Apart from it, BJD’s Sasmit Patra levelled similar allegations that his name was added without his consent.
“At the time when resolutions were being moved in the House (during the discussion on the Delhi Services bill), I heard that my name was mentioned in a resolution that was moved by Raghav Chadha. Without taking my prior consent my name can’t be put in the resolution. I hope the Chairman of the House will take action. I have given a complaint. Obviously, this is a matter of privilege. All of us have filed our respective complaints,” the Biju Janata Dal MP said.
Meanwhile, the bill to replace ordinance for control of services in Delhi was passed in Upper House after a division in which 131 MPs voted in favour of the legislation and 102 against it.
Union Minister Amit Shah said  that two members (BJD MP Sasmit Patra and BJP MP Dr Sudhanshu Trivedi) are saying that they have not signed the motion (to be part of select committee) moved by AAP MP Raghav Chadha.
“Now it is a matter of investigation how the motion was signed,” Amit Shah said in Rajya Sabha on Delhi Services Bill.
Union Home Minister Amit Shah on the National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill, 2023 in the Rajya Sabha said, “AAP was born after opposing Congress. They (AAP) used almost three tons of offensive words against Congress and came into existence. And today they are seeking support from Congress to oppose this bill. The moment this bill will be passed, Arvind Kejriwal ji palat jayenge, thenga dikhayenge aur kuch nahi hone wala.”
The National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill, 2023, has been already passed in Lok Sabha, last week.

- Advertisement -