Uttarakhand election results 2017: BJP rides Modi wave, annihilates Cong

Dehradun: It was an easy run for the Bharatiya Janata Party to the victory stand, as it dislodged the conflict-ridden Congress government by securing 57 out of 70 seats in the state.

The Congress garnered 11 seats, finishing a distant second. Two independent candidates also won.

Riding steadily on an anti-incumbency wave, the BJP managed a clean sweep and even surpassed the exit poll figures, despite facing several internal conflicts before polls.

In an extension of the support it received during the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the party received a clear mandate and caused some serious damage to the outgoing Congress’s seat toll.

Commenting on the massive win, Prime Minster Narendra Modi said “Victory in Uttarakhand is special; I assure people of the state that BJP will serve them with dedication,” in a tweet.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh had remarked, “This is a big victory. BJP has reached new heights in Uttarkhand and Uttar Pradesh and has changed the political picture of the country.”

BJP spokesman Munna Singh Chauhan attributed Rawat’s defeat to thriving corruption and a strong anti-incumbency factor.

“People were totally disillusioned with the Rawat government under whom corruption flourished like never before and they were desperately looking for change,” Chauhan pointed out.

He further added, “Narendra Modi’s style of leadership, his head-on approach towards corruption inspired confidence among the masses who voted overwhelmingly in favor of the BJP for a clean and accountable government.”

In a major blow to the Congress, outgoing Chief Minster had Chief Minister Harish Rawat lost to Bharatiya Janata Party candidates in both seats he contested from — Haridwar Rural and Kichha.

Rawat also tendered his resignation hours after his defeat.

- Advertisement -