UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath distributes portfolios among UP cabinet ministers, keeps home

New Delhi: Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath distributed portfolios among his council of ministers on March 22, three days after he took over the state government.
The chief minister – who promised to establish law and order and eliminate corruption in the state during his poll campaign – kept the home department, besides other key portfolios such as housing, revenue, state reorganization, and mines and minerals (headed by tainted minister Gayatri Prasad Prajapati in the Akhilesh Yadav regime).
Though Yadav had also kept the home department with him, Adityanath – unlike the previous chief minister – decided to give away finance and energy to other cabinet members.
Adityanath is also likely to shed some of the three dozen departments in his portfolio once additional ministers are inducted into the state cabinet. The strength of the assembly – comprising 403 MLAs – allows him to have 13 more ministers.
As anticipated, Adityanath gave away key departments to each of his two deputy chief ministers. While Keshav Prasad Maurya was given the public works department, Dinesh Sharma was put in charge of the secondary and higher education portfolio. The other departments they got weren’t as important.
The crucial finance ministry was allocated to Rajesh Agarwal, a six-time MLA and former deputy speaker of the state assembly.

- Advertisement -