Uddhav Thackeray formally chosen as new Maharashtra CM

Mumbai, Nov 26 (IANS) Shiv Sena President Uddhav B. Thackeray was unanimously elected as chief of the ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ on Tuesday evening, paving the way for his becoming the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra.
Thackeray’s name was proposed by Nationalist Congress Party state President Jayant Patil and Congress state President Balasaheb Thorat at a meeting of all the parties in the ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ here.
Present on the occasion were NCP President Sharad Pawar, Samajwadi Party state President Abu Asim Azmi, Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana President Raju Shetti, and other top leaders of the Sena, the NCP and the Congress.
As per indications, the MVA is likely to stake its claim to form the government before the Governor on Tuesday night, after which the details of the wearing-in ceremony shall be finalized.
The fast-paced developments came barely hours after Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Deputy CM Ajit Pawar abruptly resigned this afternoon, a day before the special session of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly was to be convened on Wednesday as ordered by the Supreme Court.

- Advertisement -