Nidahas Trophy: KL Rahul becomes first Indian to be dismissed hit wicket in T20Is

Colombo: KL Rahul, who replaced Rishabh Pant in the starting eleven on Monday, inked his name in the select list of batsmen who were dismissed hit wicket in Twenty20 Internationals and in the process he became the first Indian to set the dubious record.
Rahul achieved the unwanted feat against Sri Lanka in the fourth T20I of the Nidahas Trophy Tri-Series at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.
Rahul went too deep in his crease while facing spinner Jeevan Mendis in the tenth over and dislodged the bails with his right foot. Rahul scored 18 off 17 balls and his wicket left India at 85/4 in 9.5 overs, while chasing 153 in the rain curtailed 19-over-a-side match.
Manish Pandey (42 off 31 balls) and Dinesh Karthik (39 off 25) then added unbeaten 68 runs for the fifth wicket to take India home in 17.3 overs. Earlier, a late flurry of wickets ensured India kept Sri Lanka to 152/9 after opting to field first.
Rahul joined a select group of nine other batsmen to get out in this rare fashion in the shortest-format of the game. The list included the likes of AB de Villiers of South Africa, Sri Lanka’s Dinesh Chandimal and Pakistan’s Misbah-ul-Haq and Mohd Hafeez.
For India, the first to be dismissed hit wicket in Tests was Lala Amarnath in 1949, while in ODIs it was Nayan Mongia in 1995.

- Advertisement -