Manipur Governor invites BJP to form government, oath ceremony on March 15

NEW DELHI: Manipur Governor Najma Heptullah has invited the BJP to form government in the state.

“BJP CM and council of ministers to take oath tomorrow in Imphal,” news agency ANI said quoting sources on March 14.

Amit Shah and Union minister Jitendra Singh will attend the swearing-in ceremony, the news agency said.

BJP submitted a list of 32 MLAs โ€” claiming a majority of two in Manipur’s 60-member assembly โ€” to governor Najma Heptullah on March 12 and furnished letters of support from regional parties.

N Biren Singh was elected unanimously as the leader of the BJP legislature party. He had later staked claim to form the government after meeting the Governor.

The Congress had emerged as the largest party in the state after the assembly elections, but the party fell short of majority. While the Congress won 28 seats in the 60-member assembly, the BJP got victory in 21 seats.

Ibobi Singh who has been serving as chief minister for 15 years, since 2002, was again elected the leader of the Congress Legislature Party. He had also staked claim to form the government.

Ibobi Singh had argued that Congress being the single largest party with 28 seats should be given the first opportunity to form the government.

However, the BJP had managed to get the support of other MLAs in the state.

Earlier on March 14, four Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLAs met the Governor and extended their support to the BJP for formation of the new government in the state.
The NPF is a constituent of the NDA. Earlier, four National People’s Party (NPP) legislators had extended their support to the BJP.

The BJP has claimed that it enjoyed the support of 32 MLAs in the assembly.

- Advertisement -