Kamal Nath chosen leader of Congress legislature party in MP

New Delhi, Dec 13 (IANS) Madhya Pradesh Congress President Kamal Nath was on December 13 chosen as the leader of Congress Legislature Party by the newly elected party MLAs in the state.
The decision was made at a meeting convened soon after Kamal Nath reached Bhopal, along with party MP Jyotiraditya Scindia, who was the other contender for the post.
The two leaders had earlier met party President Rahul Gandhi in New Delhi.
The Congress party also tweeted about Kamal Nath being the next Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh and said that an era of change will dawn in the state.
“Our best wishes to Kamal Nath for being elected Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. An era of change is upon Madhya Pradesh with him at the helm,” the party said.
Kamal Nath, the new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, has the reputation of a go-getter who ceased to be an industrialist when he plunged into politics as a Sanjay Gandhi loyalist.
Now 72 years old, the long-time MP from Chindwara will need all his skills to deliver on the promises made by the Congress to the farmers and youths during the Assembly elections that helped them oust the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
Since his appointment as the Madhya Pradesh Congress chief about seven months back, Kamal Nath fully immersed himself in preparations for the Assembly polls in the state where the party was out of power for 15 years.
Meanwhile, opposing the move by the Congress to name former union Minister Kamal Nath as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, the Shiromani Akali Dal said on December 13 that the Congress was “rewarding the perpetrators of genocide against the Sikhs”.
“The Congress promotes and rewards the perpetrators of genocide against the Sikhs by proposing the name of Kamal Nath as Chief Minister,” Akali Dal leader Mahesh Inder Singh Grewal said in a statement here.
“Apparently, the Gandhi family still rewards the leaders of Congress who were directly involved in the genocide in 1984, a period of shame for humanity as rioting against the innocent Sikhs was perpetrated by the leaders of Congress,” Grewal said.
The Congress won 114 seats, two seats short of majority in a tight contest, while the BJP finished a close second with 109 seats in the 230 member House.

- Advertisement -