Julia Gillard sworn in as Australia’s PM

Sydney: Australia’s incumbent Prime Minister Julia Gillard, who is the first woman to hold the position, was on September 14 sworn in along with her 19 Cabinet ministers in Canberra.

Julia Gillard, who was accompanied by her partner Tim Mathieson, signed a document and swore allegiance to Britain’s queen. She was also joined by her 19 newly-appointed Cabinet Ministers, 10 Ministers and 12 parliamentary secretaries, The Age newspaper reported.

The new Cabinet includes Defense Minister Stephen Smith, Treasurer Wayne Swan and Foreign Minister Kevin Rudd, whom Julia Gillard dislodged as Labor chief.

Julia Gillard toppled former Prime Minister  Rudd in June this year. She then led the ruling Labor into the August 21 general elections.

Ms. Gillard announced the new Cabinet on September 11, four days after her Labor Party secured the support of two independent MPs to form a minority government in the country’s first hung parliament in 70 years.

The independent MPs’ support helped Ms. Gillard reach the magic figure of 76 in the 150-member House of Representatives.

- Advertisement -