IPL Final 2019 Results: Mumbai Indians Beat Chennai Super Kings on Last Ball

Hyderabad, May 13 (PTI): Mumbai Indians (149/8) beat Chennai Super Kings (148/7) by a single run in a thriller to win the 2019 Indian Premier League on Sunday. The final came down to the last ball, with Lasith Malinga taking the wicket of Shardul Thakur.
The four-time champions did excellent work with the ball, limiting Chennai’s vaunted attack throughout the middle overs. Super Kings pushed the pace in the last five overs, however, and a key mistake from Quinton de Kock had them on the verge of winning. With two needed from the last ball, Malinga came up with a massive wicket to win.
Mumbai continued their run of dominance in odd-numbered years, previously winning the title in 2013, 2015 and 2017. They’re now the most successful team in IPL history, winning one more championship than Chennai.
It was funny game in which the two teams kept passing the trophy to each other is how Chennai Super Kings skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni described the IPL final, in which Mumbai Indians prevailed by one run.
The see-saw game kept the fans enthralled as the winner-takes-all contest went to the wire and was decided in the last ball of the tournament on Sunday.
Initially, it was CSK which had an edge but Mumbai Indians came back in middle overs. Again it was Shane Watson who seemed to have tilted it in CSK’s favour but incredible pace bowling by Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga finally swung it in Mumbai’s favour.
“Today was one game we should’ve done slightly better. It was quite a funny game, we were passing the trophy to each other. Both committed mistakes, and eventually the winning team was the one that committed one mistake less,” said Dhoni after CSK fell short by just one run, chasing 150.
Dhoni has led the CSK to eight finals but he was far from a contended skipper.
The charismatic Dhoni said the focus will now shift to World Cup in England.

- Advertisement -