Gujarat elections 2017: BJP releases second list of 36 candidates

Ahmedabad: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced its second list of 36 candidates for next month’s Gujarat Assembly elections, which will be held in two phases on December 9 and 14.
On Friday, the BJP had announced its first list of 70 candidates for the states polls. With this, the party has announced 106 candidates for elections to the 182-member Gujarat Assembly.
Out of the 70 names announced Friday, 42 were of seats that are going to polls in the first phase and 28 were for those that go to polls in the second phase.
Besides the names of CM Vijay Rupani and his deputy Nitin Patel, names of Gujarat BJP chief Jitu Vaghani and several cabinet ministers feature in the party’s first list. Five former MLAs, who were among the 14 to quit the Congress and join BJP in the run-up to the highly controversial Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections in August this year, also figure in the list.
The Congress too is expected to announce its candidates soon.

- Advertisement -