Dhoni & Co script history; win series 2-0 against Australia


Bangalore: India completed their first ever series whitewash of Australia as Sachin Tendulkar led them to a comprehensive 7-wicket victory over the visitors in the second and final cricket Test in Bangalore on October 13.

Tendulkar (53 not out) added a half century to his first innings double ton and capitalized on the foundation laid by debutant Cheteshwar Pujara (72) as India easily surpassed the target of 207 in the final session of the last day.

Tendulkar hit the winning runs, a two, off Nathan Hauritz half-an-hour into the final session to trigger wild celebrations at the Indian camp and among the Chinnaswamy Stadium crowd.

Rahul Dravid remained unbeaten on 21 and shared 61 runs with Tendulkar from 16 overs for the unbroken fourth wicket.

With the back-to-back victories, having won the first Test at Mohali by a narrow 1 wicket, India took the 2-match series 2-0 though the Border-Gavaskar Trophy had already been in their bag.

With the win in the exciting Test, India strengthened their position at the top of ICC Test rankings, while Australia was pushed down to fifth.

For Australia, this was the first time after 1982 that they have been handed a series whitewash by the opposition.

They had lost 0-3 in their 1982 Test tour of Pakistan.

Ricky Ponting will also have to wait for Australia’s first Test victory against India under his leadership.

Chasing 207 for a victory in a minimum of 77 overs on a deteriorating track, India lost opener Virender Sehwag (7) cheaply but debutant Pujara and first innings centurion Murali Vijay held the fort admirably by sharing 72 runs from 13 overs for second wicket to take India on victory path.

Later, the two senior most batsmen Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid combined for to take India to victory in the Test dominated by Tendulkar’s 6th double hundred and stamp their superiority over Australia.

- Advertisement -