Close to 99% voting in Presidential election; result on July 20

New Delhi: Voting to elect India’s 14th President ended at 5:00 p.m. on July 17 in Parliament House and state assemblies across the country with close to 99 percent voting, Returning Officer Anup Mishra said.
The ballot boxes from the states will be brought to Delhi for counting on July 20. Results will be declared that day.
Voting was held in 32 polling stations—one in Parliament House Room No. 62 and rest one each in state legislative assemblies.
Polling started at 10:00 a.m. A total of 776 MPs and 4,120 MLAs were eligible to vote. The total value of votes of the electoral college is 10,98,903.
NDA’s candidate Ram Nath Kovind—ex Bihar governor—has an advantage over Meira Kumar—a former Lok Sabha Speaker—as the numbers are stacked in favour of the ruling NDA.
The BJP and allies have nearly 63 percent of the vote while the Congress-led opposition has a little over 35 percent. Independents and other smaller parties, who have not made their choice known, have two percent.
President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on July 25.
As lawmakers voted to elect India’s next president, the ruling BJP exuded confidence that NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind would win with a “comfortable” margin, while the opposition said its joint pick Meira Kumar was the best choice in the “clash of ideologies.”
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath were among the first to cast their votes.
“Kovind ji will win (the election) with a respectable and comfortable margin,” Union Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu told reporters ahead of the polling.
Another Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said Kovind will register a “decisive victory” and would turn out as an “honest” president, who, he said, will work hard according to the Constitution.
“It would have been better if there was consensus (among all parties over Kovind’s nomination). But no issues,” he said.
Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said the fight between Kovind and Kumar was “one of ideologies” and rated the latter as the best choice for the President’s post.
“The President should be a person pursuing an ideology under which everybody should be equal for him. And when there is a clash of ideologies, I think our candidate (Kumar) is the best,” Azad, the Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha, said.
Backing Kumar, the CPI(M) urged voters, comprising MPs and MLAs, to pick the “custodian of the Constitution” thoughtfully.
“Hope the electoral college picks the custodian of India’s Constitution thoughtfully….Vote to uphold constitutional values of our republic,” party general secretary Sitaram Yechury said on Twitter.
Yechury and senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge asked all MPs and MLAs exercising their franchise to vote according to their “inner conscience”.
“We believe in democracy and that’s why we are contesting (the poll). All the voters, including those from the BJP, should also vote as per their conscience,” Kharge said.
With both Kovind and Kumar belonging to the Dalit community, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati expressed satisfaction that a Dalit leader would occupy the office of the President irrespective of who won the poll.
Mayawati also claimed it was because of her party that the NDA and the Opposition had to field candidates from the community.
“Winning or losing (a poll) is a different issue. Whoever wins, the good thing is a Scheduled Caste person will be the country’s president. And I think it is a good thing for our movement, the party.

- Advertisement -