Chhattisgarh Congress MLAs to decide on CM

Raipur, Dec 12 (IANS) The newly-elected Congress MLAs are scheduled to meet late on December 12 to decide the name of the Chief Minister, a party official said here.
Party’s state unit General Secretary Shailesh Trivedi said that AICC observer Mallikarjun Kharge, AICC General Secretary in-charhge of Chhattisgarh P.L. Punia, Secretary in-charge Chandan Yadav and Arun Oraon would also be present at the legislative party’s meet.
Trivedi said the name might be announced after the meeting.
State Congress unit President Bhupesh Baghel, T.S. Sighdeo, Tamradhwaj Sahoo and Charandas Mahant are some of the names in the race for the top job.
The Congress has won 67 out of the 90 seats in the state Assembly elections, dethroning BJP’s Raman Singh after 15 years.
He said that the Congress President has also sought the opinion of party workers through a mobile app on who should be the next Chief Minister.

- Advertisement -