Bihar bypoll results: RJD wins Jehanabad, BJP retains Bhabua

New Delhi: Both BJP and RJD have won a seat each in the Bihar bypolls, the results for which were announced March 14. While RJD retained the Jehanabad assembly seat, BJP was able to hold on to the Bhabua assembly seat. The result for the third seat, the Araria Lok Sabha constituency, is still awaited.
RJD retained the Jehanabad assembly constituency, where Kumar Krishna Mohan was contesting from RJD ticket following the death of his father MLA Mundrika Yadav.
BJP’s Rinky Rani Pandey, who was contesting from the Bhabua assembly seat following the death of her husband and BJP MLA Anand Bhushan Pandey, won the seat for BJP.
The result of Araria Lok Sabha seat is still awaited.
In Bihar, the ruling JD(U)-BJP combine and the opposition RJD-Congress alliance were locked in a battle in Araria Lok seat and the two Assembly constituencies.This was the first electoral battle in the state since Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who also heads the JD(U), walked out of the alliance with the RJD and the Congress and joined the BJP-led NDA last year.
The bypolls for the Araria seat was necessitated by the death of RJD MP Mohd Taslimuddin. The contest was mainly between RJD’s Sarafaraz Alam, Taslimuddin’s son, and BJP’s Pradip Singh, who had won the seat in 2009 and finished runner-up in 2014.
In Jehanabad, the RJD was hoping to retain the Assembly seat that fell vacant after the death of party MLA Mundrika Yadav. The party gave ticket to Yadav’s son Kumar Krishna Mohan.
On the other hand, the BJP was hopeful of retaining the Bhabua Assembly seat riding on a sympathy wave for Anand Bhushan Pandey whose death at the age of 48 necessitated the bypoll. The saffron party fielded Pandey’s wife Rinky Rani.

- Advertisement -