Australia’s new Parliament sworn in


Melbourne: The members of Australia’s 43rd Parliament were on September 28 sworn in Canberra by Chief Justice of the High Court Robert French.

Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Opposition Leader Tony Abbott attended the traditional smoking ceremony, which was preceded by a speech from Aboriginal elder Matilda House, according to media reports on September 28.

“On the occasion of this opening of the 43rd Parliament I welcome you,” she said, adding “With this welcome I express the hope of a united, reconciled nation, the oldest living culture joined with the many diverse cultures of a modern successful Australia.”

Deputy Governor-General Robert French officially opened the Parliament and MPs were sworn in.

- Advertisement -