After quitting SP and BSP, 3 former MLCs join BJP

Lucknow: Three former members of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council on July 31 embraced the BJP.
Two of these, Bukkal Nawab and Yashwant Singh, were in the Samajwadi Party while Thakur Jaiveer Singh was in the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).
The three joined the BJP in the presence of the party’s state chief and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya.
Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma was also present.
“The three MLCs have come to the BJP family reposing their faith in the policies of the BJP, while opposing the policies of the SP and the BSP. Party workers in the SP and the BSP were feeling harassed, but now they are feeling relieved. We welcome them, and hope that they will add strength to the party,” Maurya said.
Speaking on the occasion, Yashwant Singh said that he had joined the BJP unconditionally as it is a party of principles and ideals.
I have been influenced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, he said.
Nawab said that in the SP, injustice was done to the party workers. “BJP is democratic and party workers here are given respect,” he said.
The three joined the BJP on a day when its chief Amit Shah was also in Lucknow for his three day visit here.
On July 29, the three had quit the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council causing disquiet among opposition parties in the state.
The resignations of the sitting MLCs were accepted by Chairman of Legislative Council Ramesh Yadav. — PTI

- Advertisement -