A postal stamp that smells coffee!

Bengaluru: Coffee-lovers will now have a reason to pick up a pen and write a letter to a friend. The Department of Posts on Sunday released a commemorative coffee-scented postage stamp at the Bengaluru
General Post Office (GPO) on Sunday.
The dark brown miniature sheet stamp has images of coffee beans, a kettle and a steaming cup of coffee on it. When rubbed lightly, one can smell the aroma of coffee on the stamp. It was released by Manoj Sinha, Union Minister of State for Railways and Communication. “It is fitting that we have a stamp to commemorate coffee since it is so popular in the country, especially in South India. A few years ago, when I was travelling in Coorg, I realized that here coffee is grown in fields the way wheat is grown in my village,” Sinha said, after signing the album with the stamp.
Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry, and MP in Rajya Sabha representing Karnataka, said “Philately enthusiasts have been waiting for the release of this stamp. I have also been looking forward to it. The stamp is significant because India’s role as a grower and exporter of coffee has captured international attention.” Nirmala said she was confident that the sales of the stamp would cross the one lakh mark within a week.
Shobha Karandlaje, Udupi-Chikkamagalur MP and member of the Coffee Board and former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa were present. Many philately enthusiasts from Be¬n¬galuru who attended the unveiling of the coffee stamp were excited about the relea¬se.
“Philatelists usually collect stamps based on themes. Stamps on local personalities are not of international interest but one like this, with the aroma of coffee, would be sought by philatelists all over the world,” said Suresh R, governing council member of the Karnataka Philatelic Society.
The commemorative stamps cost Rs 100 each and the department has printed two lakh of them, in total. The stamps, first-day covers and brochures will be available for sale at the Bengaluru GPO, Mysuru, Mangaluru, Belagavi and other head post offices.

- Advertisement -