3 Idiots bags 8 IIFA Awards

The much-talked-about Bollywood film — 3 Idiots — bagged eight IIFA Awards this year in Colombo, Sri Lanka, on June 5. The Best Actor award went to Amitabh Bachchan for his role in Paa. The Best Actress award was
shared by Vidya Balan for Paa and Kareena Kapoor for 3 Idiots.

Aamir Khan starrer 3 Idiots swept this year’s IIFA awards bagging eight honors, including the Best Film award, with megastar Amitabh Bachchan winning the Best Actor award for his role as a progeria-afflicted child in Paa.

The Best Actress award was shared jointly by Vidya Balan for Paa and Kareena Kapoor for 3 Idiots.

The Best Director trophy went to Rajkumar Hirani for 3 Idiots, while he along with Abhijat Joshi, Vidhu Vinod Chopra won the Best Story award for the same film.

The film, a coming-of-age comedy about three students at a top engineering college, had been nominated in 12 of the 13 main categories in the 11th Indian International Film Academy (IIFA) awards.

It has already won eight of the 12 technical awards announced last month, including Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography.

Sharman Joshi won the Best Male Supporting Actor award for his role in 3 Idiots, while Divya Dutta received the Best Female Supporting Actress award for her performance in Dilli 6.

3 Idiots won another award with Boman Irani clinching the statuette for his negative role in the film.

Sanjay Dutt laughed all the way to bag the award for best performance in a comic role in All the Best.

Composer Pritam piped maestro A.R. Rahman to win the Best Music Director award for Love Aaj Kal while Shaan was adjudged the Best Singer (Male) for Behti hawa sa tha woh (3 Idiots). Kavita Seth won the Best Singer (Female) for Iktara in Wake Up,  Sid!
Swanand Kirkire won the Best Lyrics award for 3 Idiots.

Sri Lankan beauty Jacqueline Fernandez jointly won the Best Debut Female Actor along with Mahie Gill for their role in Aladin and Dev D, respectively.
Omi Vaidya aka “Chatur Ramalingam” of 3 Idiots shared the debut male honors with Jackky Bhagnani for Kal Kissne Dekha.

Veteran filmmaker J. Om Prakash, maternal grandfather of Hrithik Roshan, and yesteryear siren Zeenat Aman were felicitated with the Lifetime Achievement award.

- Advertisement -