Munda wins by over 17,000 votes

Kharswan: Jharkhand Chief Minister and BJP candidate Arjun Munda on February 17 won the Kharsawan assembly by-poll defeating his nearest Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) opponent Dasrath Gagrai by over 17,000 votes.

The by-poll was necessitated as Munda has to enter the state assembly within the mandatory six months period after becoming the Chief Minister on September 11 last year.

BJP sitting MLA Mangal Singh Soy had resigned two months ago to pave way for Munda. Munda defeated Gagrai by over 17,000 votes, Returning Officer C.K. Singh said.

- Advertisement -