Filmfare Awards


By Bella & Meena

Two vastly different films swept up an equal number of trophies at the 55th Idea Filmfare Awards held at a glittering ceremony at Yash Raj Studios in Andheri on February 27.

While Vidhu Vinod Chopra’s 3 Idiots snapped up the most popular awards-Best Film, Best Director, Best Story, Best Screenplay, Best Dialogue and Best Supporting Actor — Anurag Kashyap’s Dev D won six as well. The Best Actor award went to Amitabh Bachchan for his performance as a progeriaafflicted child in Paa, while Vidya Balan walked away with the Best Actress trophy for the same film.

Led by a line-up of stalwarts who turned out in strength, the Hindi film industry raised a toast to its members who hit paydirt at the box-office and won critical acclaim as well. Much to the delight of the spectators, show hosts Shah Rukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan were back after taking a break last year owing to SRK’s elbows injury. Wasting no time at all, the irrepressible duo launched their antics on the red carpet itself, and kept pulling out the gags thick and fast through the evening. In this, they were ably supported by good friend Karan Johar and actors Siddharth and Shruti. The duo’s wicked reputation has spread far and wide and the pretty blondes who were dancing with them suddenly sped away, finding more appealing options among the audience including Hrithik Roshan, Shahid Kapoor, Vivek Oberoi and even Shakti Kapoor. However, all was not lost for the Khans. A row of cross-dressers walked in as their consolation prize. True to style, the awards were punctuated with live performances by A-list actors Salman Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Katrina Kaif, Deepika Padukone, Shahid Kapoor as well as Riteish Deshmukh and Jacqueline. Salman Khan may not have won a nomination for his role in Wanted but stole the show by dancing wildly to the kind of songs that front-benchers love him for. As a bevy of hopeful chorus dancers’ begged “Baraat leke aaja,” the most eligible bachelor of the industry fended them off pleading “Oonchi hai building, lift teri band hai.” Wearing a Superman tee, Salman moved on to “You’re my love” and “Maria Maria” before finishing in a high-energy recital of the Hanuman Chalisa from London Dreams.

Katrina Kaif was another class act with a medley of recent songs leading from “Yaar nazar nahin aata” and “Hai junoon” to her signature hit “Tera hone laga hoon” from Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani. Kareena Kapoor sidestepped the customary medley of hits for an elaborate sequence of “Zoobi Doobi” from 3 Idiots. Deepika Padukone, on her part, belied her mere couple of years in the industry by performing with the ease of a veteran. Hardly missing a cue even during rehearsals, she negotiated her way through a series of tricky acrobatic moves for “Uff teri ada,” Karthik Calling Karthik and “Twist” Love Aaj Kal. Shahid Kapoor’s talent at dancing is a foregone conclusion and this time he chose a theme that struck an instant chord with the spectators. As he did a mean moonwalk, the audience’s thoughts went back to the colossal loss of the past year-Michael Jackson.

Another warm tribute was reserved for the living legends. The audience rose as one when actor Shashi Kapoor and composer Khayyam were awarded this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards. Both natives of undivided Punjab had started work at an early age, married into their profession and served the country for decades before retiring from the limelight. Khayyam accompanied by wife Jagjit Kaur came to accept the award. “No honor comes before its time, so I am not left with the feeling that the Lifetime Achievement has come too late. I am happy,’’ said Khayyam. In a lovely moment the wheelchair-bound but ever-charming Shashi Kapoor was escorted on stage by his nephew Ranbir and niece Kareena.

In a departure from tradition, the Best Debut awards this year were given to talented directors instead of actors-Zoya Akhtar for Luck By Chance and Ayaan Mukherji for Wake Up, Sid.

Role of honor


Best Film 3 Idiots;
Best Director Raj Kumar Hirani for 3 Idiots;
Best Actor (Male) Amitabh Bachchan for Paa;
Best Actor (Female ) Vidya Balan for Paa;
Best Supporting Actor (Male ) Boman Irani for 3 Idiots;
Best Supporting Actor (Female) Kalki Koechlin for Dev D;
Best Music A.R. Rahman for Delhi 6;
Best Lyrics Irshad Kamil for Aaj din chadya, Love Aaj Kal;
Best Playback (Male) Mohit Chauhan for Masakali, Delhi 6;
Best Playback (Female) Kavita Seth for Iktara, Wake Up Sid Rekha Bhardwaj for Genda phool, Delhi 6;
Critics’ Award for Best Director Nandita Das for Firaaq;
Critics’ Award Best Actor (Male) Ranbir Kapoor for Wake Up Sid, Ajab Prem, Rocket Singh;
Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female) Mahie Gill for Dev D;
Best Story Abhijat Joshi, Raj Kumar Hirani for 3 Idiots;
Best Screenplay Abhijat Joshi, Raj Kumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra for 3 Idiots;
Best Dialogue Raj Kumar Hirani & Abhijat Joshi for 3 Idiots;
Best Production Design & Art Direction Helen Jones, Sukanta Panigrahi for Dev D;
Best Editing Sreekar Prasad for Firaaq;
Best Cinematography Rajeev Ravi for Dev D;
Best Visual Effects Govardhan Vigharan, Vinay Singh Chuphal for Kaminey;
Best Action Vijayan Master for Wanted;
Best Choreographer Bosco-Caeser for Chor bazaari, Love Aaj Kal;
Best Background Score Amit Trivedi for Dev D;
Best Sound Design Manas Chaudhary for Firaaq;
Best Costumes Vaishali Menon for Firaaq;
R.D. Burman Award for New Musical Talent Amit Trivedi for Wake Up Sid, Dev D;
Best Debut Ayaan Mukherji for Wake Up Sid, Zoya Akhtar for Luck By Chance;
Lifetime Achievement Awards Shashi Kapoor, and Khayyam.

- Advertisement -